Cloning a Work Item Template
The system allows you to clone any existing work item template, creating a new template with the same data without needing to re-enter it from scratch. This guide explains the required permissions, the ways to perform the cloning action, and what happens after it’s completed.
Permissions
The user must have the “Add Work Item Templates” permission to be able to clone an existing template.
Ways to Clone a Template
You can clone a work item template using either of the following two methods:
From the Templates List Screen
- Go to “Work Item Templates”.
- Click the “…” icon next to the template you want to clone in the list, then select “Clone”.
From the Template View Screen
- Open the template you want to clone from the templates list.
- Click the View icon, then click the “Clone” button.
What Happens When Cloning
- The system creates a new copy of the template, carrying all the data from the original template.
- A new creation date is recorded for the copy (the current date), instead of the original template’s creation date.
- The new template receives a new sequential number, different from the original template’s number.
- You are automatically redirected to the Add screen for the new template, where you can review and edit the data before saving, if you wish to do so.