Delete Task Type

This feature enables system users to permanently delete a task type, allowing them to safely remove incorrect or unused task types without affecting existing tasks.

Before You Start

  • Ensure that the Task Management app is enabled. You can enable it by navigating to Settings from the main menu, then opening Apps Manager.
  • You must have the Manage Task Types permission to use this feature. Users without this permission cannot delete any task type.
  • A task type cannot be permanently deleted if it is already used in any existing task.

Steps

  1. From the main menu, click Task Management.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Task Types.
  4. From the Task Types list, select the task type you want to delete by clicking the Actions icon for that task type.
  5. Select Delete.
  6. The system displays the following confirmation message before deleting the task type: “Are you sure you want to delete this task type?” with two options: Yes and No.
  7. Click Yes to confirm the deletion.
    • If the task type is not used in any task, it is deleted immediately after confirmation.
    • If the task type is already used in existing tasks, the deletion is refused, and the following message is displayed: ” You cannot delete the task type as it’s selected in task (#). You can deactivate it instead.”

How the System Works

  • Before deleting a task type, the system checks whether it is associated with any existing task in the system.
  • If the task type is not used in any task, the system deletes it immediately after the user confirms the action.
  • If the task type is used in one or more tasks, the system prevents the deletion and displays a message suggesting that you deactivate the task type by changing its status to Inactive instead of deleting it.
  • Every delete action is recorded in the Activity Log.

Validation Rules

  • You can delete a task type only if it has never been used in any task.